Deanery Synod

What is the Deanery Synod ?

Each of the fifteen Deaneries in the Liverpool Diocese has a Deanery Synod.

The Synod consists of all the clergy licensed in the Deanery (vicars, rectors, priests in charge, assistant clergy, clergy in hospitals and prisons plus some representation of retired clergy). They form the House of Clergy, which is chaired by the Area Dean, who is appointed by the Bishop after widespread consultation.

The other part of the Synod is the House of Laity. The vast majority of members are elected from the parishes in the Deanery. Others include co-opted members and stipendiary lay workers (like Church Army Officers and Stipendiary Readers).

The Deanery Synod meets to share issues of concern to the Deanery, debate items emerging from parishes or referred by the Diocesan or General Synods and to develop the Deanery Mission Plan in the spirit of the 'Responding to the Call' report.

Each Deanery has a Mission and Pastoral Committee, which plays a key role in taking the work forward.

Which Deanery does All Hallows belong to ?

All Hallows belongs to Liverpool South Deanery. The Deanery consists of 18 churches, including our own sister churches of St Matthews and St James and St Barnabas. Follow the link to see the full list of churches in Liverpool South Deanery  

Who represents All Hallows on the Deanery Synod ?

  1. Janice Thomas
  2. Carol Savidge
  3. Chris Savidge 
  4. Gordon Smith

If you want to learn more about what is involved, you can contact Deanery Synod members by following the contacts on the right-hand side of the page.

If you want to understand what the Synod is and does in more detail, follow this link to the Diocesan website.